Qatar National Football Team to play in prestigious Copa America 2019 in Brazil

  • April 19, 2019
  • internetQatar
  • 3 min read

If you’re a soccer fan, it doesn’t get much better than this news that Qatar is going to take part for the first time ever in the world’s oldest continental tournament – Copa America! The Copa American 2019 will be held in Brazil this year and will feature two teams from outside of South America.

Qatar and Japan are all set to make up the numbers and compete in the long-waited tournament organised by CONMEBOL. Earlier in 2018, Qatari representative, QFA President Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa bin Ahmed Al Thani accepted the invitation to play as a guest side during a CONMEBOL Congress meeting held in Argentina.

Copa America started it’s journey in 1910 as the one-off Copa Centenario Revolución de Mayo, later turned into the Campeonato Sudamericano de Football (the South American Championship) in 1916, then finally in 1975 became the tournament – Copa America!

Soccer fans around the globe are waiting eagerly to see some of the world’s best players competing in Copa America 2019 that matter deeply to the countries involved. And for Qatar, it’s a superb opportunity to play in a top-flight event in an effort to build a strong team for the 2022 FIFA World Cup. Qatar was previously invited to play in the Copa America 2011, but could not take part because of prior commitments.

Brazil to host Copa America 2019

Brazil to host Copa America 2019

Brazil will host the 2019 edition of the tournament and it will be the fifth times for them to host the Copa America, with the country previously hosting in 1919, 1922 and 1949 and 1989.

Games to take place in six stadiums in Brazil

The 2019 Copa America – the 46th edition of the event will be played in six stadiums across five cities in Brazil. The stadiums are Belo Horizonte, Porto Alegre, Rio de Janeiro, Salvador and Sao Paulo. The opening is marked for the Morumbi Stadium (Sao Paulo) while the final will be held at the Maracaná Stadium (Rio de Janeiro).

Copa America 2019

12 teams set to compete in the Copa America 2019

Twelve teams will participate in 2019 Copa America which combine of 10 CONMEBOL representatives and two extra teams from the AFC – Qatar and Japan. The 10 South American member countries of CONMEBOL include Brazil, Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela and Ecuador.

Copa America 2019 schedule

The opening match of Copa America 2019 is scheduled to play on June 14 in Sao Paulo and the final will take place on 7th July in Rio De Janerio.

Copa America 2019

Are you a true football fan that you put the beautiful game above everything? Will you fly to Brazil to support the Qatari team at Copa America 2019? How well do you think Qatar will do in their first ever Copa tournament?Courtsy;ILoveQatar