DPS Indian School Sharma wins Qatar Primary Schools title

  • April 17, 2019
  • internetQatar
  • 2 min read

India’s Taksh Sharma of DPS Indian School outplayed all six of his opponents to clinch the Qatar Primary Schoolboys’ Chess title at the Jawaan Bin Jassim Model Independent School for Boys yesterday.

Sharma got the better of compatriots Gaurish Ganesh, Shahal Mohammed, Rishab Murthy and Rahul Balamurugan as well as Egyptian Hazem Disouky and Jordan’s Khaled Al Qatani to secure full points with a brilliant score of 21 in the six rounds yesterday.

Tom Varghese, also from DPS Indian School, finished with a score of 5.5 after winning five games and drawing against Anirudh Aravind in the fourth round.

Rahul Balamurugan completed a brilliant treble for DPS Indian School by winning the bronze medal, after earning a total score of of 5.

Gowtham Ramamoorthy, winner of the Qatargas Rapid Chess Tournament title few days ago, finished fourth ahead of Abel Sajan, who completed the top five.

The amazing performances by the top three players also earned DPS Indian School the team championship. The team amassed 11.5 points.

Doha Modern Indian School finished second ahead of Birla Public School who won third place in the competition.

The Boys’ tournament saw 124 players representing boys 34 schools took part in the two-day event which saw the girls in contest on the opening day, which saw Amulya Guruprasad of Doha Modern Indian School winning the title.

The tournament was organised by the Qatar School Sports Association and Qatar Chess Association.Courtesy:ThePeninsula